Photos courtesy UTEP Athletics

UTEP Cross Country runs first event of 2020 at Cowboy Jamboree

STILLWATER, Ok. – After months of uncertainty during the COVID-19 pandemic, the UTEP cross country squad finally hit the course to commence the 2020 season at the 82nd annual Cowboy Jamboree on Saturday morning.

The Miners competed at the newly renovated state-of-the-art OSU Cross Country Course.

“At the Cowboy Jamboree, I am proud of both the men and women cross country team’s finishes today,” UTEP Head Coach Paul Ereng said. “We have learned quite a bit from todays’ race and the next competition should be better. The men finished seventh as the women finished 10th. [Titus] Cheruiyot and [Rodgers] Korir were 17th and 18th out of the 120 men’s competitors. [Carolyn] Chepkosgei and [Karoline] Daland finished 23rd and 24th out of 122 women competitors.”

The UTEP men’s squad finished in the middle of the pack with a seventh-place showing out of 13 teams with 241 points in the 8K event. Sophomore Titus Cheruiyot clocked a time of 25:04.7, finishing as the top Miner. Junior Rodgers Korir followed right behind his teammate with a time of 25:05.7.

Kenneth Talavera registered a time of 26:01.7, followed by junior Michael Sims’s personal-best time of 27:18.9, and senior Boaz Ronoh (27:24.4). Senior Cornelius Kapel recorded a time of 28:14.7.

The women’s side placed 10th with 283 points in the 6K event. Senior Carolyne Chepkosgei finished as the top Miner, clocking in a time of 22:43.0, while junior Karoline Daland finished in 24th with a time of 22:43.6.

For Daland, it was her highest career finish in a 6K race. Sophomore Joan Kimaiyo recorded a time of 23:49.2, while sophomore Valerie Gonzalez (25:41.4) competed in his first career 6K race. Senior Andrea Lucero (26:33.7) and sophomore Jacquilyn Orozco (28:25.9) rounded out the early morning event.

Host Oklahoma State won the overall men’s race with 23 points, as a pair of Cowboys finished in second and third place. Iowa State’s Wesley Kiptoo won the individual honor with a time of 23:34.5.

Iowa State took the women’s title with 29 points, while the Cyclones’ own Callie Logue won the individual honor with a time of 20:38.6.

The Miners will return to Stillwater for the OSU Invitational on October 17. The Conference USA Championships will take place on Saturday, October 31.