• May 28, 2022
 UTEP Football’s Luna Named as Ray Guy Award Candidate

UTEP Football’s Luna Named as Ray Guy Award Candidate

AUGUSTA, Ga.UTEP football punter Alan Luna was announced as a 2015 Ray Guy Award nominee on Friday. The Ray Guy Award identifies the nation’s top collegiate punter. The list is made up of 79 finalists.

The native of El Paso is currently ranked third in Conference USA in punting average (45.1). Luna has kicked 38 punts for 1,715 yards, including eight inside the 20-yard line and 15 punts of 50 or more yards. The sophomore recorded a season-high in punts (eight), yards (375) and average (46.9) at FIU on Oct. 10.

Luna’s season long is 60 yards, a feat he has achieved in three separate games (at Arkansas, at Texas Tech and against Incarnate Word).

Luna is one of eight C-USA punters on the nominee list. The seven other include Florida Atlantic’s Dalton Schomp (leads C-USA in punting), Tyler Williams (Marshall), Eric Keena (North Texas), Satchel Ziffer (Old Dominion), James Farrimond (Rice), Tyler Sarrazin (Southern Miss) and Jake Collins (WKU).

The list will be narrowed to ten semifinalists to be announced on Nov. 13. Following the semifinalists announcement, a national body of Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) sports information directors, coaches, media representatives and previous Ray Guy Award winners will vote for the top three finalists, who will be identified on Nov. 23. The voting body will then cast ballots to select the winner.

The presentation of the Ray Guy Award will be featured live on ESPN during the Home Depot College Football Awards, Thursday, December 10.

Author: UTEP Athletics

Staff Report

Staff Reports are just that, Staff Reporting the news. No skew, no opinion just the news. We pride ourselves on making sure that we bring you the news as soon as it is published, submitted or sent to us. No need to have a reporter rewrite or give their opinion. The facts or information, nothing more.

Related post