UTEP Golf’s Ambrosius named Second Team All-Conference USA

UTEP’s Oskar Ambrosius was named to the 2020 Conference USA Men’s Golf All-Conference Team, it was announced by the league office on Thursday.

Ambrosius garnered second team accolades for his performance in 2019-20, marking the seventh straight year a Miner golfer has been voted to the all-conference team.

Ambrosius competed in all seven tournaments for UTEP during the 2019-20 season and registered a 72.0 stroke average in 21 rounds to lead the Miners. He was UTEP’s top finisher in four of the seven events he played, including finishing in the top 10 on four separate occasions.

He finished the shortened spring season ranked 14th in Conference USA according to Golfstat.

On September 19, he was named Conference USA Co-Golfer of the Week after taking home the title at the CSU Ram Masters Invitational with a career-low three-round total of 201 (-9), including a career-low round of 65.

Additionally, Ambrosius finished in fourth place in the first event of the fall season at the Gene Miranda Invitational after shooting 6-under par (74-68-68—210).

He also tied for ninth at the William H. Tucker Intercollegiate after firing a 2-under par, while he tied for fourth at the Herb Wimberly Intercollegiate after shooting 1-under par to close out the fall.

For complete coverage of UTEP Men’s Golf,  follow the Miners on social media at @UTEPminergolf (Twitter) and @UTEPMensGolf (Instagram) or visit the official home of UTEP Athletics.


All-Conference USA First Team

John Gough, Charlotte

Mac Murphy, Louisiana Tech

Jake Benson, Rice

William Walker III, UAB

Murray Naysmith, UAB

All-Conference USA Second Team

Marc Boucher, Charlotte

Tanner Owens, Middle Tennessee

Gustav Fransson, Old Dominion

Oskar Ambrosius, UTEP

Linus Lo, WKU

All-Conference USA Third Team

Alex Maguire, Florida Atlantic

Viktor Forslund, North Texas

Ben Reichert, UAB

Khavish Varadan, UAB

Christian Fanfelle, UTSA

Conference USA All-Freshman Team

Dongjin Park, Charlotte

Alex Maguire, Florida Atlantic

Robbie Latter, Southern Miss

Thongpipat Rattanayanon, Southern Miss

Khavish Varadan, UAB

C-USA Player of the Year

John Gough, Charlotte

C-USA Freshman of the Year

Khavish Varadan, UAB

C-USA Coach of the Year

Mike Wilson, UAB