UTEP President to be appointed to National Science Board

Heather Wilson, President of The University of Texas at El Paso, will be appointed to serve a six-year term on the National Science Board, which provides advice and oversight for the National Science Foundation (NSF).

President Donald Trump announced his intent to appoint President Wilson on Tuesday, March 3, 2020, for a six-year term.

“I look forward to advancing science and engineering and helping to guide the National Science Foundation,” Wilson said. “This is a great honor for me and for the State of Texas.”

President Wilson arrived at UTEP the start of the 2019-20 academic year after serving as Secretary of the United States Air Force.

She is the former president of the South Dakota School of Mines & Technology, an engineering and science research university in Rapid City, South Dakota, and represented New Mexico in the United States Congress for 10 years.

The National Science Board, comprised of 25 members, works with the NSF to recommend and encourage research, education and budget priorities; and serves as an independent advisory body to the president and Congress on policy matters related to science and engineering. It also publishes policy papers and statements on issues of national importance to science and engineering.