• December 2, 2021
 UTEP QB Metz Named One of Eight Manning Award ‘Stars of the Week’

Linebacker Alvin Jones (lf) and quarterback Ryan Metz (rt) – Metz, the El Paso native is known for his on-field achievements and has also made an impact off the field.

UTEP QB Metz Named One of Eight Manning Award ‘Stars of the Week’

NEW ORLEANS – UTEP quarterback Ryan Metz was recognized as one of the Manning Award, sponsored by the Allstate Sugar Bowl, “Stars of the Week” on Monday. The honor was earned after the El Paso native’s performance, helping to lead UTEP to a thrilling 52-49 victory in five overtimes at UTSA on Oct. 22.

Metz is one of eight quarterbacks to earn the prestigious recognition and college football fans can go to the Allstate Sugar Bowl Facebook page to vote for what they think was the best performance from this past weekend. When voting closes on Thursday at 11 a.m. CT, the top vote-getter will be announced as the Manning Award Quarterback of the Week.

Metz tied his career best with three touchdown passes at the Alamodome on Saturday night. The sophomore threw a 27-yard scoring pass to Aaron Jones in regulation, a 25-yard touchdown toss to Jones in the second overtime and the game-winning score to Warren Redix, a six-yard pass in which Metz rolled out his right and found an open Redix in the end zone.

The Andress High School graduate finished with 211 yards on 15-of-23 passing and no interceptions. Metz engineered drives of 75, 65, 97 and 85 yards in regulation.

The other seven quarterbacks include, Jerod Evans [Virginia Tech], Lamar Jackson [Louisville], Pat Mahomes II [Texas Tech], Baker Mayfield [Oklahoma], Brent Stockstill [Middle Tennessee], Zach Terrell [Western Michigan] and Will Worth [Navy].

While the Manning Award selected 30 quarterbacks for its preseason Watch List, additional quarterbacks are expected to be added to the Watch List later in the season.

VOTE HERE! (Allstate Sugar Bowl Facebook page)

The Manning Award was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in 2004 to honor the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. It is the only quarterback award that includes the candidates’ bowl performances in its balloting.

Staff Report

Staff Reports are just that, Staff Reporting the news. No skew, no opinion just the news. We pride ourselves on making sure that we bring you the news as soon as it is published, submitted or sent to us. No need to have a reporter rewrite or give their opinion. The facts or information, nothing more.

Related post

El Paso Herald Post Download the new ElPasoHeraldPost.com app and get notifications for community news, deals and community calendar info. Your info is never shared and we would love for you to share our app with your friends!
Allow Notifications