UTEP - Sun Bowl
Sun Bowl

UTEP Student-Athletes And Teams Recognized At 2022 Golden Pick Awards

UTEP student-athletes and teams were honored at the fourth-annual Golden Pick Awards, sponsored by the Robbins Family, at the Don Haskins Center on Monday.

A list of the major award winners and a brief summation of their accomplishments follows below.

In an “Academy Awards” formatted show to wrap up the year, all of the academic and athletic achievements of UTEP student-athletes from the past season were highlighted.

The Robbins family, including Dede, her sister Rachel, and their parents, Louis and Marie, have been life-long supporters of UTEP Athletics.

Female Athlete of the Year – Serena Patterson, Volleyball

Patterson was named first team All-Conference USA and AVCA Southwest All Region after pacing the Miners with 367 kills.

Male Athlete of the Year – Souley Boum, Men’s Basketball

Boum was second in Conference USA in scoring, averaging 19.9 points per game. He was an All-Conference USA second-team selection. Boum was also a NABC All-District second-team honoree.

Team of the Year – Volleyball

UTEP volleyball recorded the best winning percentage in school history with a 24-8 record while appearing in a postseason tournament for the first time in program history.

Coach of the Year – Joe Golding, Men’s Basketball

Golding directed the Miners to their first 20-win season since 2015, including a mark of 11-7 in Conference USA play. UTEP capped the year with its first postseason victory since 2009.

Moment of the Year – UTEP Men’s Basketball Upsetting North Texas

The UTEP men’s basketball team defeated back-to-back C-USA West Division Champion North Texas, 70-68, on “Senior Day.” The Miners led wire-to-wire in the game on the way to halting the Mean Green’s 15-game winning streak.

Best Comeback – UTEP Volleyball

The Miners lost the first two sets at NM State, but won three in a row to secure their first victory in Las Cruces since 2004. UTEP also posted its first sweep of the Aggies since 2001.

Unsung Hero – Ryley Frye, Volleyball

Frye stepped in as a freshman and played for an injured setter in several key matches, including wins over top-100 teams Arizona, NM State, Northwestern, Colorado State, Tulsa, Portland State and Weber State. She also posted a season-high eight aces in the postseason NIVC against Tulsa.

Female Newcomer of the Year – Ema Uskokovic, Volleyball

Uskokovic was named to the Conference USA All-Freshman team after helping the Miners post the best winning percentage in school history. She compiled a .227 hitting percentage, the highest among all freshmen playing her position in the league.

Male Newcomer of the Year – Jamari Sibley, Men’s Basketball

Sibley started 23 games for the Miners, averaging 5.3 points and four rebounds while playing a key role in the team’s 20-win season.

Thomas Howard Walk-On Student-Athlete Award – Jalen Joseph Football & Alyssa Sianez, Volleyball

Joseph appeared in eight games for the Miners in 2021, playing at wide receiver and special teams. He also boasts a 3.72 GPA while majoring in kinesiology. Sianez paced C-USA in passing efficiency and ranked eighth in the league for digs per set. She has earned a scholarship for the fall of 2022. Sianez has a 3.54 GPA and is majoring in mathematics.

Dr. Louis Robbins Award for Academic Excellence (Top Senior GPA) – Paulina Perez Rosas, Volleyball & Cal Wallerstedt, Football
Perez Rosas has a 3.94 GPA and is majoring in Kinesiology.  Wallerstedt has a 3.75 GPA and is majoring in Biological Science.

Community Service Award – Softball

The softball team earned this award for having the most community service hours per student-athlete.

Team GPA – Tennis

The tennis team had a 3.51 GPA in the spring semester and a 3.77 GPA in the fall semester for a combined GPA of 3.64.

Team MVPs
Men’s Cross Country – Rodgers Korir
Women’s Cross Country – Ruth Jerubet
Men’s Basketball – Souley Boum
Women’s Basketball – Destiny Thurman
Cheer – Samuel Gregory and Taelor Rae Molina
Dance – Annelise De Lara
Football – Breon Hayward
Men’s Golf – Greg Yellin
Women’s Golf – Sophie Delfosse
Rifle – Isabel Brooks
Soccer – Kristen Prevosto
Softball – Lexi Morales

Sports Medicine – Irazema “Chema” Aveytia
Men’s Strength and Conditioning – Cartraven Walker, Football
Women’s Strength and Conditioning – Kathleen Percegona, Tennis
Tennis – Veronika Lebisova
Men’s Outdoor Track & Field – Paulo Benavides
Men’s Indoor Track & Field – Kenneth Talavera

Women’s Outdoor Track & Field – Roosa Yloenen

Women’s Indoor Track & Field – Carolyne Chepkosgei
Volleyball – Serena Patterson


For more information, Click Here   |   For our complete coverage, Click Here