Photo Courtesy of UTEP Athletics
Photo Courtesy of UTEP Athletics

UTEP T&F to Compete at UNM Collegiate Classic Friday and Saturday

The UTEP track and field team – following a week off from competition – will return to Albuquerque to compete at the New Mexico Collegiate Classic in the Albuquerque Convention Center on Friday and Saturday. 

Via UTEP Athletics

The meet will begin at 9 a.m. on Friday, and will conclude on Saturday at 3:30 p.m.


STREAM: FloTrack



Making the trip on the men’s side are Jakub Belik (high jump), Daniel Bernal (mile, 3000m), Jalen Cadet (200m, 60m H, long jump, high jump), Stephen Carreto (400m, 4×400 B), Titus Cheruiyot (3000m), Karon Dean (200m, 4×400 A), Ronaldo Griffiths (400m, 4×400 B), Joshua Hill (400m, 4×400 A), Aleks Hristov (shot put, weight throw), Dennis Johnson (60m, 200m), Maxwell Kipkosgei (800m), Yusuf Mohamud (800m), Atiq Muhammad (60m, long jump), Elijah Munoz (60m H, shot put, long jump), Juan Olmos (3000m), Julio Pacheco (400m, 4×400 B), Mathew Polk (60m, 200m, 4x400m B), Abdulraof Rashid (60m, 200m, 4×400 A), Emilio Rios Jr. (high jump, triple jump), Michael Sims (800m, mile), Kenneth Talavera (800m, mile), Zacarias Velasquez (60m, long jump), and Jordani Woodley (60m H, 4×400 A).

Competing for the women are Loubna Benhadja (400m, 4×400), Chinique Brown (400m), Oghenekaro Brume (400m, 4×400), Niesha Burgher (60m, 200m, 4×400), Angie Calderon (800m), Lizbeth Fierro (shot put, weight throw), Carshaylah Harrison (400m, 4×400), Asia Hodge (60m, 200m), Ruth Jerubet (3000m), Joan Kimaiyo (3000m), Denae McFarlane (60m, 200m, 4×400), Natalie J. Murillo (shot put, weight throw), Victoria Ovalles (3000m), Marisa Simpson (200m, 60m H) and Karen Villa Medina (60m H, 200m, high jump, shot put).


  • Burgher leads C-USA in the 60m (7.33@), 200m (23.27@)
  • Jerubet leads C-USA in the 5000m (16:55.47), ranks third in the mile (4:55.54@) and fifth in the 3000m (9:48.20@)
  • Simpson leads C-USA in the 60m H (8.25@)
  • Women’s 4×400 (Benhadja, Simpson, Burgher, Brume) leads C-USA (3:43.99@)
  • Benhadja ranks second in the 400m (55.15@)
  • Brume ranks third in the 400m (55.16@)


  • Mohamud leads C-USA in the 800m (1:50.54@)
  • Talavera leads C-USA in the mile (4:06.84@)
  • Bernal ranks second (13:52.79) in the 5000m
  • Woodley ranks second in the 60m H (7.89@)
  • Kibiego ranks third (14:08.51) in the 5000m
  • Dean ranks third in the 60m (6.67@)
  • Hill ranks third in the 400m (47.81@)
  • Men’s 4×400 (Griffiths, Polk, Carreto, Rashid) ranks third (3:16.59@)


  • Burgher headlined the Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Invitational on Jan. 21 as she set the indoor program record in the women’s 200-meter dash, clocking in a 23.20. Her time beat out Miner great Tobi Amusan’s time of 23.35 back in 2017.

  • Mohamud took second in the 800-meter race, clocking in a personal-best 1:51.16. Mohamud made a big leap from his previous time of 1:57.99 at the Don Kirby Open & Elite last February. His time ranks no. 1 in Conference USA.

  • Kenneth Talavera won the mile, clocking in a 4:12.33. It was Talavera’s third career victory in the mile event after posting a pair of first place finishes last season. Talavera’s time ranks no. 1 in C-USA.

  • Loubna Benhadja clocked in a personal-best 55.04 in the 400-meter dash. Her previous best was 55.06 last season.


Jan. 13-14        Texas Tech Corky Classic                                                         Lubbock, Texas

Jan. 21             Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Collegiate Invitational                   Albuquerque, N.M.

Feb. 3-4           New Mexico Collegiate Classic                                               Albuquerque, N.M.

Feb. 11-12       Don Kirby Invitational                                                             Albuquerque, N.M.

Feb. 18-19       C-USA ITF Championships                                                       Birmingham, Ala.

March 10         NCAA ITF Championships                                                       Albuquerque, N.M.