UTEP Track & Field set to Compete at Don Kirby Tailwind Open Thursday

The UTEP track and field team will travel up I-25 to the University of New Mexico to compete at the Don Kirby Tailwind Open on Thursday, April 22 at UNM Track Stadium.

The track events will start with the women’s and men’s 1500m invite at 10 a.m. and 10:07 a.m., respectively. The field events will begin at 10 a.m. with the women’s javelin (men to follow). Check full schedule here.

Live Results Link

Making the trip for the women are Geraldy Barron (200m, 4×100), Chinique Brown (200m, 4×400), Oghenekaro Brume (200m, 4×100, 4×400), current Conference USA Female Track Athlete of the Week Maribel Caicedo (100m, 4×100), Cierra Chenault (shot put, discus), Carolyne Chepkosgei (400m, 4×400), Samantha Cordier (shot put, discus), Aphiniti Crupper (200m), Valerie Gonzalez (800m), Carshaylah Harrison (400m intermediate hurdles, 4×400), Ruth Jerubet (1500m), Madeline Jones (100m, long jump), Joan Kimaiyo (5000m), Kayla Larry (shot put, discus), Denae McFarlane (100m, 4×100), Nia Reneau (long jump), Natalia Roberts (400m), and Roosa Yloenen (javelin).

Traveling for the men are Ned Azemia (400m intermediate hurdles), Sean Bailey (200m, 4×400), Paulo Benavides (pole vault), Titus Cheruiyot (1500m), Arturo Ciriza (pole vault), Dereck Constance-Parris (400m intermediate hurdles), Benjamin Coronado (shot put, discus), Ronaldo Griffiths (400m intermediate hurdles), Chevannie Hanson (400m, 4×100, 4×400), Kevin Hewitt (400m), Joshua Hill (400m, 4×400), Aleks Hristov (discus), Dennis Johnson (100m, 4×100), Maxwell Kipkosgei (1500m), Devin Mungro (long jump), Misael Ortiz (shot put, discus), Jevaughn Powell (200m, 4×100, 4×400), Emilio Rios (high jump), Shakeem Smith (110m high hurdles, 4×100), and Ishmel Williams (high jump, long jump).

Miners’ C-USA Rankings

1st: Denae McFarlane – 100m (11.60)

1st: Maribel Caicedo – 100m hurdles (13.51)

1st: Men’s 4×400 (3:05.84)

2nd: Jevaughn Powell – 200m (20.92)

2nd: Men’s 4x100m (40.54)

2nd: Roosa Yloenen – Javelin (53.37m)

3rd: Chevannie Hanson – 400m (46.62)

3rd: Ruth Jerubet – 1500m (4:33.29)

3rd: Shakeem Smith – 110m hurdles (14.00)

3rd: Aleks Hristov – discus (55.40m)

4th: Dennis Johnson – 100m (10.35)

4th: Paulo Benavides – pole vault (5.10m)