UTEP Track & Field to open Outdoor Season at UTSA Invitational

The UTEP track and field team will compete in its first outdoor event in almost two years after COVID-19 canceled the 2020 season.

The Miners will make their 2021 outdoor debut at the UTSA Invitational on March 18-20 at Park West Athletics Complex in San Antonio, Texas. No spectators are allowed due to COVID-19 protocols.

The Miners will start competition on Friday, March 19.

UTEP and host UTSA are set to compete against Baylor, Kansas State, Rice, Stephen F. Austin, Texas, Texas A&M-Corpus Christi, Texas State, UIW and UTRGV.

On Friday, the heptathlon (long jump, javelin, 800m) and decathlon (110 hurdles, discus, pole vault, javelin, 1500m) will begin at 9 a.m. MT.

Friday’s field events will start at 1 p.m. MT with the women’s hammer throw (men to follow) and men’s shot put (women to follow). Men’s javelin (women to follow) will start at 5 p.m. MT. The running events will shoot off with a rolling schedule at 7 p.m. MT with the men’s and women’s 3K steeplechase, and the women’s and men’s 5K.

The final day on Saturday will start at 10 a.m. MT with the field events (pole vault, high jump, long jump, and discus. The running events will start at 1 p.m. MT.

The Park West Athletics Complex was built in 2013, as UTEP is making its first ever trip for competition to UTSA.

UTEP’s last regular-season event came at the Desert Heat Classic in Tucson, Ariz., on April 27, 2019. Following the regular season, the Miners competed at the 2019 Conference USA Outdoor Championships in Charlotte, N.C., on May 9-12 where the women placed second and the men finished sixth.

Thirteen Miners competed at the NCAA Outdoor Championships Preliminary Round – West in Sacramento, Calif., on May 23-25, while Bailey advanced to the NCAA Outdoor Championships in Austin, Texas, where he earned All-American Second Team honors in the 400m on June 5-8.

LIVE RESULTS LINK: http://www.sidearmstats.com/utsa/track/

MEET INFO: https://goutsa.com/sports/2021/3/1/2021-track-field.aspx

Competing for the women are Geraldy Barron (sprints), Chinique Brown (sprints), Oghenekaro Brume (sprints), Maribel Caicedo (hurdles), Cierra Chenault (throws), Carolyne Chepkosgei (distance), Samantha Cordier (throws), Aphiniti Crupper (sprints), Karoline Daland (distance), Valerie Gonzalez (distance), Carshaylah Harrison (hurdles/sprints), Ruth Jerubet (distance), Madeline Jones (sprints), Joan Kimaiyo (distance), Kayla Larry (throws), Andrea Lucero (distance), Danae McFarlane (sprints), Jacquilyn Orozco (distance), Nia Reneau (jumps), Natalia Roberts (hurdles), Sah-Hay Stevens (throws) and Roosa Yloenen (throws).

On the men’s side are Ned Azemia (sprints), Sean Bailey (sprints), Paulo Benavides (pole vault/jumps), Titus Cheruiyot (distance), Arturo Ciriza (pole vault), Benjamin Coronado (throws), Ronaldo Griffiths (sprints/hurdles), Chevannie Hanson (sprints), Kevin Hewitt (sprints), Joshua Hill (sprints), Aleks Hristov (throws, discus), Dennis Johnson (sprints), Maxwell Kipkosgei (distance), Karol Koncos (throws), Rodgers Korir (distance), Yusuf Mohamud (distance), Devin Mungro (jumps), Misael Ortiz (throws), Jevaughn Powell (sprints), Emilio Rios (jumps), Boaz Ronoh (distance), Michael Sims (distance), Shakeem Smith (hurdles), Kenneth Talavera (distance), Ishmel Williams (jumps) and Osaze Williams (distance).

Azemia, Benavides, Brown, Brume, Griffiths, Hanson, Hewitt, Hill, Hristov, Jerubet, Kipkosgei, McFarlane, Reneau, I. Williams and O. Williams will make their UTEP debuts.