UTEP’s Amaewhule Named to 2022 Bednarik Award Watch List - Photo courtesy of UTEP
UTEP defeats NMSU 30-3 in the Battle of I-10

UTEP’s Amaewhule Named to 2022 Bednarik Award Watch List

UTEP football’s Praise Amaewhule was selected to the 2022 Chuck Bednarik Award Watch List as announced by the Maxwell Football Club on Monday.

The Bednarik Award has been presented to the College Defensive Player of the Year since 1994 and is named in honor of Chuck “Concrete Charlie” Bednarik who was an All-American player at the University of Pennsylvania and later a multiple All-Pro linebacker and center for the Philadelphia Eagles. He is a member of both the College and Pro Football Halls of Fame and was the last NFL player to be a full-time player on both offense and defense.

Amaewhule was named to the 2021 All-Conference USA first team. The redshirt junior, who started all 13 games, led the Miners with 13.0 tackles for loss, 10 quarterback hurries and three forced fumbles. The redshirt junior rated second on the team in sacks (5.5) and breakups (seven). He ranked 22nd nationally in forced fumbles (.23).

The 6-3, 245-pound defensive end had a dominating performance that helped the Miners rally from a 13-3 deficit at halftime to a 20-13 victory against New Mexico. Amaewhule posted 1.5 tackles for losses, a forced fumble, two pass breakups and racked up a career-high seven QB pressures against the Lobos.

The product from Katy, Texas, filled the stat sheet at Southern Miss. Amaewhule tallied five tackles (all solo), with 2.0 tackles for loss, a sack and two pass breakups. His forced fumble against the Golden Eagles led to a defensive TD on a scoop-and-score by teammate Breon Hayward.

During a comeback victory against ODU, Amaewhule led the Miners with a career-high eight tackles along with a sack and 1.5 tackles for loss.

Amaewhule registered single sacks versus NM State, New Mexico, ODU, Southern Miss and Florida Atlantic.

Amaewhule has 15.5 career sacks and is 4.5 away from tying the program’s all-time leader (Gonzalo Floyd – 20.0 sacks).

Amaewhule was also recognized to the Conference USA Preseason Watch List, the Dave Campbell’s Texas Football All-Texas Team, Athlon Sports All-C-USA Preseason Honor, Phil Steele’s All-C-USA First Team, and recently the Bronko Nagurski Watch List.

The Miners kick off the 2022 season with a home opener against North Texas on Saturday, Aug. 27 at 7 p.m. at the Sun Bowl Stadium. Call 915.747.UTEP for tickets.


For more information, Click Here   |   For our complete coverage, Click Here