Photo courtesy El Paso Locomotive FC

Video+Story: Locos steam past FC Tulsa, Roll into Western Conference Semifinal

El Paso Locomotive FC battled through 120 minutes and a penalty shootout to claim the 2 (4) – 2 (2) victory over FC Tulsa in the Western Conference Quarterfinals at Southwest University Park on Saturday.

Leandro Carrijo opened his Locomotive account with a brace, while Nick Ross, Bryam Rebellon, Richie Ryan, and Saeed Robinson scored in the shootout to pick up the win.

“Give the guys great credit. We are pretty beat up right now in terms of the size and the fatigue level of the squad,” said Head Coach Mark Lowry, post-game. “For them to grind out 120 minutes like they did, get in the attack and create the chances like they did was superb. I loved the way they showed composure throughout the shootout because that’s important. The four guys that stepped up to take those kicks were fantastic. It’s in these moments that I give the guys a lot of credit.”

The game got off to a quick start as Carrijo nearly found an opening goal in the second minute, just missing the shot from Eder Borelli’s low cross in. FC Tulsa responded in kind through Rodrigo da Costa, who put the ball away in the 5th minute, however, was ultimately ruled offside. In the end, it was Carrijo who found the opening goal cleaning up a chipped pass from Yuma and miscommunication between Tulsa goalkeeper Sean Lewis and his backline.

The lead would not last as Tulsa found the equalizer in the 38th minute through da Costa, who slotted home a ball that just slipped past Logan Ketterer.

Tulsa came out of the locker room with a renewed vigor, controlling possession and the flow of the game through the second half, finding a go-ahead goal in the 68th minute through Callum Chapman-Page. Locomotive would find the equalizer in the form of a brace from Carrijo, who flicked the header into the far post in the 82nd minute to close the 90-minute regulation with two goals for each side. The game grew heated with both sides fighting a physical game for the advantage to avoid a penalty shootout. Locomotive found the frame of the goal four times while Tulsa earned a red card to go down a man in the 101st minute.

Ultimately, the match came down to a penalty shootout that saw Ketterer come up big with a save, while Ross, Rebellon, Ryan, and Robinson found their marks to book the Locos Blue a ticket to the Western Conference Semifinal.

Los Locos will return to Southwest University Park on Saturday, October 17 to take on New Mexico United in the Western Conference Semifinal. Kickoff from El Paso is set for 7:30 p.m. MT.


ELP: Leandro Carrijo, 19th minute: Opening the scoring in the Western Conference Quarterfinal, Yuma chipped a pass to the stop in the penalty area, where miscommunication between an FC Tulsa centerback and goalkeeper left the ball open for Carrijo to capitalize on. Against an open net, Carrijo smoothly pass the ball in, providing Locomotive with a first half lead.

TUL: Rodrigo da Costa, 38th minute: After Ariel Martínez pushed the ball wide, Marlon took one touch to send it back center. Locomotive ‘keeper Logan Ketterer was able to get down and get two hands the ball, but wasn’t able to stop it from rolling into the path of da Costa, who took one touch to cleanly finish it and equalize.

TUL: Callum Chapman-Page (Lebo Moloto): After Locomotive cleared the freekick from a foul, Moloto was quick to collect and resend the shot back into the box. Logan Ketterer rushed off his line to punch the clearance, but Chapman-Page connected first with the header to put Tulsa in front momentarily.

ELP: Leandro Carrijo (Dylan Mares): Connecting with the served in corner kick from Mares, Carrijo rose head and shoulders above the rest in a crowded penalty area to flick the ball into the lower pocket of the far post, equalizing the game before the end of 90 minutes.


ELP: Nick Ross, Bryam Rebellon, Richie Ryan, Saeed Robinson
TUL: Cristhian Altamirano, Bradley Bourgeois


– For the second time in the club’s young history, Locomotive hosts a USL Championship playoff game, boasting a record of 1-0-0 in the postseason at Southwest University Park

– Former FC Juarez star-striker Leandro Carrijo earned his first goal in a Locomotive jersey, converting a goal in the 19th minute.

– Locomotive moved to 12-games undefeated, earning the right to host another playoff game as New Mexico United topped San Antonio FC.

Videos courtesy EP Locomotive FC

El Paso Locomotive FC vs FC Tulsa Post Game

Posted by El Paso Locomotive FC on Saturday, October 10, 2020

El Paso FC vs FC Tulsa Post Game

Posted by El Paso Locomotive FC on Saturday, October 10, 2020

Match: El Paso Locomotive FC vs FC Tulsa  |  Date: October 10, 2020

Venue: Southwest University Park; El Paso, Texas  |   Weather: 81F; clear and sunny

Scoring Summary                           1       2       F        SO

El Paso Locomotive FC                    1      1        2          4

FC Tulsa                                           1      1        2           2

ELP: Leandro Carrijo, 19’
TUL: Rodrigo da Coasta, 38’
TUL: Callum Chapman-Page (Lebo Moloto), 68’
ELP: Leandro Carrijo (Dylan Mares), 82’


El Paso Locomotive FC (4-2-3-1): Logan Ketterer; Edder Borelli (Moses Makinde, 105’), Yuma, Mechack Jerome, Macca King (Saeed Robinson, 78’), Richie Ryan, Chapa Herrera (Nick Ross, 78’), Bryam Rebellon, Dylan Mares, Aaron Gomez (Memo Diaz, 114’), Leandro Carrijo

Subs not used: Jermaine Fordah, Matt Bahner, Distel Zola

FC Tulsa (4-4-2): Sean Lewis; Matthew Sheldon, Bradley Bourgeois, Callum Chapman-Page, Kevin Garcia, Ariel Martínez, Lebo Moloto, Eric Bird (Raphael Ayagwa, 94’), Rodrigo da Costa (Vangjel Zguro, 105’), Dario Suárez (Tobenna Uzo, 85’), Marlon (Cristhian Altamirano, 72’)

Subs not used: Mfon Udoh, Bryan Byars, Fabian Bastidas

Stats Summary: ELP/TUL

Shots: 26 / 12

Shots on Goal: 10 / 3

Saves: 1 / 8

Corner Kicks: 9 / 4

Fouls: 17 / 18

Offside: 1 / 1


TUL – Eric Bird (Caution), 24’
TUL – Callum Chapman-Page (Caution), 61’
ELP – Eder Borelli (Caution), 67’
ELP – Bryam Rebellon (Caution), 96’
TUL – Callum Chapman-Page (Ejection), 101’