Video+Story: SISD Campus Teachers of the Year honored, 2020 Elite 8 announced

The Socorro Independent School District announced its Elite 8 finalists at a special ceremony that also recognized all 2020 Campus Teachers of the Year.

The Elite 8 finalists include four elementary teachers and four secondary teachers who will now contend for top honors at the SISD Teacher of the Year Gala May 9 at the El Paso Convention Center.

The elementary finalists are Illissa Marie Alvillar from Sgt. Roberto Ituarte Elementary; Chris Concepcion from Helen Ball Elementary; Pedro Gurrola from Vista Del Sol Elementary; and Angelina Escobar from John Drugan School.

The secondary finalists are Vanessa Marie Martinez from El Dorado High School; Dawn Brooks from Bill Sybert School; Michael J. Ramos from KEYS Academy; and Crystal Avila from Socorro High School.

The ceremony honored all 48 Campus Teachers of the Year, who were congratulated by Superintendent José Espinoza, Ed.D. and board trustees. School principals and the teachers’ family members attended the celebration, as well.

“I would not be here today if it weren’t for teachers, they have a huge impact on us,” Dr. Espinoza said. “I thank you all for being educators, specifically here in Socorro ISD.”

The campus Teachers of the Year were nominated by their schools though a democratic process. The nominees are exceptional educators who inspire students, are respected by their peers and have the ability and willingness to make meaningful contributions to education.

The Elite 8 finalists were interviewed and selected by a committee of students, parents, administrators and the SISD Elementary and Secondary Teachers of the Year from last year.

The Elite 8 teachers now will go on to the next round where a selection committee will decide on the 2020 SISD Elementary Teacher of the Year and the 2020 SISD Secondary Teacher of the Year.

These top two winners will be announced at the 2020 Teacher of Year Gala on May 9.

Tickets for the gala are now on sale for $30 per ticket. They can be ordered from campus secretaries through April 1. The Teacher of the Year Gala is an adults-only event. No one under 18 years of age will be permitted.