• January 24, 2022
 Winners Abound at Southwest University Motorplex’s First Race Weekend

Danny Dean (El Paso, TX) ’93 Dodge Daytona

Winners Abound at Southwest University Motorplex’s First Race Weekend

Over the weekend, the 2018 drag racing season got off without a hitch at the Southwest University Motorplex in Clint.

Racers from all over west Texas and New Mexico got to flex their muscles under sunny blue sky conditions. At the start of the tournament the drivers pits and the bleachers were packed with excited fans as the track went hot for the opening of the NHRA Summit Racing Equipment Sportsmen Series.

The racing kicked off with the one round Dash-4-Cash in which the driver who comes closest to their self imposed “dial in”, without breaking out, would win and that driver was El Pasoan, Lorenzo Hidalgo as he dialed a 9.60 in his ’93 Chevrolet S-10 drag truck and won with a 9.6075 which is known as a .0075 pass.

From there, the rest of of the class racing was underway and by 9:45 pm the event crowned its winners as follows:

Super Pro:

Winner Danny Dean (El Paso, TX) ’93 Dodge Daytona

Runner Up Andrew Jaramillo (Las Cruces NM) ’69 Dodge Dart

Semifinalist Sammy Franco III (Anthony NM) ’67 Chevy Camaro


Winner James McCall (El Paso TX) ’72 AMC Gremlin

Runner Up George Aguilar (El Paso TX) ’69 Chevy Camaro

Semifinalists May Lazoya (Socorro TX) ’67 Chevy Chevelle

Mark Jones (Alamogordo NM) ’90 Rear Engine Dragster



Winner Laura McIntyre (El Paso TX) ’16 Hyosung GT650R

Runner Up Mike McIntyre (El Paso TX) ’16 Hyosung GV650 Pro

Semifinalists Demond Williams (El Paso TX) ’11 Suzuki GSXR 750

Juan Romero (El Paso TX) ’88 Honda Hurricane CBR



Winner Daniel Zarate (El Paso TX) ’09 Chevrolet Corvette

Runner Up Crystal Anguiano (El Paso TX) ’11 GM Terrain

Semifinalist Joseph Del Valle (El Paso TX) ’02 Ford Crown Victoria

Congratulations to all of the winners and round two of the Summit Racing series will be on Saturday May 12th.

Until then, the track will be open every Friday night for Street Legal/TNT drag racing and on Wednesday April 25th the track will host their first Street 2 Stip racing event.

Guest Columnist

Guest Columnists are residents who feel so strongly about a news event, a story or some other issue, that they decided to put their thoughts to paper - or computer screens. Or they are writers who have made their work available via other channels and we feature their work here, with permission. If you'd like to submit a column, please contact us at news@epheraldpost.com

Related post


  • Does the Herald get released in paper form or is all internet based?

    • We are digital-only, daily news web page; however, once you are in the story, there is an option to print the page. If you ‘right-click’ with your mouse, you can print the page directly.

Comments are closed.