Ysleta ISD principal named finalist for TX middle school Principal of the Year

Dr. Angela Reyna, principal of Parkland Pre-Engineering Middle School, has been named a finalist for the 2020-21 State Middle School Principal of the Year by the Texas Association of Secondary School Principals (TASSP).

“The work we do as educators is truly important because we impact the lives of students,” said Reyna, who has worked as an educator for 17 years at Ysleta ISD. During that time, she has served as a teacher, middle-school assistant principal and principal, and high-school assistant principal.

“It is truly and honor and privilege to represent Ysleta ISD and the Parkland community,” Reyna added.

Reyna is among three finalists competing for the statewide honor after winning 2020-21 Regional Middle School Principal of the Year for outstanding performance in four areas: Personal Excellence; Collaborative Leadership; Curriculum, Instruction & Assessment; and Personalization.

The TASSP Principal of the Year program recognizes outstanding middle level and high school principals who have succeeded in providing high-quality learning opportunities for students, as well as demonstrating exemplary contributions to the profession.

Each year, the State Principal of the Year winners are submitted for consideration to be the National Principal of the Year, officials said.

The rubric/selection criteria to determine Principal of the Year winners is based on several factors within two overall categories: Wellness and Learning.

Under “Wellness,” factors include culture, equity, and student-centeredness; under “Learning,” they include results-orientation and collaborative leadership.

Reyna, who is in her second year as principal of Parkland Pre-Engineering Middle School, holds a bachelor’s degree in interdisciplinary studies, and a master’s degree and doctorate degree in educational administration, all from the University of Texas at El Paso.

Principal of the Year winners should be announced later this year. For more information, visit www.tassp.org.